What is MNET?

MNET is the Military Occupational Structure Identification Code (MOSID)/National Occupation Code (NOC) Equivalency Tool. It is a ‘Military to Civilian’ or ‘Civilian to Military’ job translator.

MNET data is based on the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) job-based specifications and Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) list of civilian occupations, known as the NOC catalogue.

MNET is available to the public at no cost and will be updated regularly by the respective governmental departments.

National Occupation Classification

The NOC 2016 is the official resource on job information in Canada. It provides a standard catalogue and framework used for dialogue on labour market information. The catalogue sorts more than 30,000 job titles into 500 Unit Groups, organized according to skill levels and skill types. All military jobs are cross-referenced against each NOC for the purpose of defining related civilian job fields.

Occupation 'Translation'

In most cases CAF MOSIDs have been directly translated into their civilian NOCs for the purpose of recruiting. Another purpose for occupation ‘translation’ is for defining related knowledge, skills and abilities (KSAs). Some MOSIDs may have several NOCs associated with a military occupation. This reflects a variety of tasks and duties that a CAF member may perform or acquire within an occupation.

Military years of service will also define the level of leadership experience, time management, supervisory and organizational skills needed. These are other KSAs common to all military jobs and are directly translated to the civilian labour market.

How to Use MNET

In order to maximize a successful military to civilian career transition, it is recommended using MNET in conjunction with other resources including:

You may also sign up for ESDC's free Job Match tool to create a detailed job match profile based on your military KSAs. This will allow you and interested employers to connect through Employment for Veterans.

MNET should be used as a guide when trying to better understand the correlation between civilian and military occupations.

Version: 23.10.2017

C’est quoi l'OESC?

L’OESC est un outil d’équivalence d’identification de la Structure des groupes professionnels vers la Classification nationale des professions, de groupe professionnel militaire à profession civile ou profession civile à groupe professionnel militaire.

Les données de l’OESC sont basées sur les descriptions de spécification de travail des Forces Armées Canadiennes (FAC) et la liste des emplois civils d’Emploi et Développement social Canada. Cette liste est connue comme le catalogue de Classification Nationale des Professions (CNP).

Classification Nationale des Professions

La CNP 2016 est la ressource officielle sur l’information professionnelle au Canada qui fournit un catalogue et un cadre standards visant à établir un dialogue quant à l’information du marché du travail (IMT). Le catalogue regroupe plus de 30 000 titres d’emploi en 500 groupes d’unités, organisées selon les niveaux de compétences et les types de compétences. Tous les groupes professionnels militaires sont comparées à une profession de la CNP dans le but de désigner des champs de travail civils apparentés.

'Traduction' des professions

Dans la plupart des cas, les ID SGPM des FAC ont été directement traduits en fonction des professions civiles de la CNP dans le but de soutenir le recrutement et de déterminer les connaissances, les compétences et les capacités (CCC) associées. Des ID SGPM peuvent avoir plusieurs professions de la CNP associées à un groupe professionnel militaire (GPM). Cela reflète une variété de tâches et d’emplois qu’un membre des FAC peut effectuer ou apprendre durant sa carrière.

De plus, les années de service militaire définiront le niveau d’expérience en leadership, la gestion du temps, les compétences en matière de supervision et d’organisation qui sont d’autres CCC communes à tous les GPM et directement appliquées au marché du travail civil.

Comment puis-je utiliser l'OESC?

Afin de maximiser vos chance de réussite lors de la transition de la carrière militaire à civile, nous vous recommandons d’utiliser l’OESC avec une combinaison de ressources, notamment :

Vous pouvez également vous inscrire au service Jumelage Emploi, pour vous créer un profil détaillé de jumelage en fonction de vos CCC militaires. Cela vous permettra, à vous et à des employeurs intéressés, de communiquer au moyen du site Vétérans en emploi.

L’OESC devrait servir de guide pour mieux comprendre la corrélation entre les occupations civiles et militaires.

Version: 23.11.2017